• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Isshinryu Self Training.... Any good books?

isshinryu607

Hello. I used to be an Isshinryu student since I was 7, but then when I was 11, my sensei had to shut his dojo down because of personal issues and he could not get insurance for his dojo. I'm now 16 and just starting Taekwondo, but I have not totally given up on Isshinryu. I've tried to look for books to self teach myself. I've looked at this new book called "Essential Isshinryu" and "The Encyclopedia of Isshinryu", but have not actually read in them, just saw them on Amazon.com.

My question is, is there anyone who can tell me a good isshinryu manual including katas, techniques, belt requirements, etc.?

(And if anyone has read the books above, are they worth getting?)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Self-training from books to any meaningful degree is impossible without a very thorough base of initial training. Training from video is better, but only slightly. Find a local Isshin-ryu dojo or give up on it entirely.

I'll be the odd one out and disagree. If he's had a few years in already, he might know a few things. And if he doesn't want to give it up, that's admirable. When I was deployed overseas, that's exactly how I learned as I didn't want to "give it up" while I was gone.

My vote is keep attending your normal classes, but do your Isshin Ryu kata religiously.

Well no one really answered my question yet.

I know it's not the same as being tought by a sensei, but I just want a reference book for learning new katas and techniques. My girlfriends father is a 4th Dan in isshinryu so maybe he could help me out too. I am NOT giving up on Isshinryu even though there are no dojos in my area.

Anyway, has anyone read "Essential Isshinryu" or "The Encyclopedia of Isshinryu"?

Are there any good isshinryu guides?