• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Double Down!

quinteros1963

How simular are Goju Ryu and Shotokan? I have been training Goju for over 2 yrs and should be able to reach Shodan in a year or so. I have found a school I like but its 30 miles away. I also located a shotokan school 5minutes away from my apt and like it as well. The style I was in was more a survey of Okinowan Karate with some Goju, shorin and Isshin ryu and shotokan kata mixed in(mostly goju). Would it be to much to start doing both Shotokan and Goju at the same time and grading in both? What do you think? The first few Shotoan trainings I have been to have been very interesting and I have caught on quickly.

The past is no more; the future is yet to come. Nothing exist except for the here and now. Our grand business is not to see what lies dimly at a distance, but to do what's clearly is clearly at hand...Lets continue to train!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

As a student of mostly Goju/Uechi. I would tell you to wait till you reach shodan in Goju Ryu before you continue onto Shotokan.

At a kyu level I dont think many people have the ability to differntiate between principles of different styles.

I did not begin my goju ryu training until I was a nidan in Uechi Ryu. And once I obtained a shodan in Goju Ryu I went onto get a shodan in Shotokan Karate as well.

I think at Shodan one is able to understand and respect the arts better.

As a student of mostly Goju/Uechi. I would tell you to wait till you reach shodan in Goju Ryu before you continue onto Shotokan.

At a kyu level I dont think many people have the ability to differntiate between principles of different styles.

I did not begin my goju ryu training until I was a nidan in Uechi Ryu. And once I obtained a shodan in Goju Ryu I went onto get a shodan in Shotokan Karate as well.

I think at Shodan one is able to understand and respect the arts better.