• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Gi Sizes

Lupin1

Hi. I'm just restarting Karate. I studied it for five years in elementary and middle school and my old uniform is from when I was a child, so I'm going to be needing to buy a new one. I'm considering a brushed 100% cotton 10oz uniform since that seems to be most people's opinions of "good", even though I'm technically going to be a beginner. I have a question about the sizing, though. Should I look more at the height or the weight? I'm 5'6'' and 220lbs (one reason I'm looking to get back into Karate-- I need more physical exercise) and so my height is two sizes off from my weight. I'm a woman, so my weight is in the womanly places (mostly breasts, hips, and bottom), if that helps. Any advice on size or the uniform type I should buy would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Welcome to KF Lupin1 :D

Its going to depend on which brand you buy as to how they're cut. Some are very generous, others not so much. Trying them on would be the best option. But if not I would probably go for a taller size and then alter the lengths of arms and legs. You could always ask your Sensei as they'll have a much better idea of what you should buy.

"Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it." ~ Confucius