• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

finding time to practice?

NewLevel

Anyone find it difficult to practice?

I'm a college student working toward a degree and studying Shorin Ryu on Monday evenings with my sensei and senior student.

I'm finding it hard to find time to practice at home like I want to. And the martial arts are new to me. Actually, I just started about 8 months ago, so everything is new.

It's frustrating because I feel I'm letting myself down as well as my sensei. I want to be great at Karate but stay humble as well.

Any tips on how to practice with a busy schedule?

I guess it's just sitting down and getting it done?

"In time of grave public crisis, one must have the courage to face a million and one opponents..." - Gichin Funakoshi

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Basically. I work full-time with lots of overtime and court time, am married with a wife and young baby, and still find the time to train. Cut out a lot of the leisure stuff throughout the day and you'd be surprised how much time you actually have.

The best advice I have is to schedule it for yourself. Make a routine. For example, I wake up M-W-F around 8, work out at 9 or 10 for an hour (depending on what the homework load is like), and then carry on with my day.

It's consistent - be it kata work, or just running. But I always find something to fill that hour with three days a week.

Practice time is vitally important in the martial arts. Even with your very busy schedule of college/studying, you'd be surprized just how much practice you can get in a day.

Yes, you'll NEED unwind time from everything from time to time otherwise you'll get burned out of one or another or both. So, find time to just relax and do absolutely nothing. No school/studying and no martial arts, even if just for a few hours.