• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Getting fed up, any experiences of sudden loss of interest?

TokyoSuitsMe

I am currently 6th kyu about to take 5th and for the first time since I started training I am beginning to get fed up with it all. I'm finding it so difficult all of a sudden and I feel like I'm never going to 'get it'. I see the black/brown belts and think I'll never be able to do what they do so why am I bothering anymore.

I don't want to feel like this because deep down, karate is very important to me but I'm having to force myself to turn up training and I dread it.

For the past few weeks I've had the odd moment where I've considered quitting altogether. I know I'd regret it but I just feel so unmotivated with it all right now.

Has anyone else ever felt like this and gotten over it?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Frustration with skill of that sort often preceeds a sudden breakthrough in skill. The loss of interest though I can't speak to. The brown belt and black belt people were all 5th kyu and lower once. If it's worth doing, it's worth doing poorly; eventually your idea of doing poorly gets to be quite high. Never gets less annoying though. The better you get to be at anything, the more you realize that you don't know.

"Anything worth doing is worth doing badly." - Baleia

I understand where you're coming from. But for me, it's not that I didn't get it, I just didn't care anymore.

I didn't get this till I was about 2nd or 1st kyu, so at that point I was so close to dan that I just stuck it out and wanted to see what would happen. Basically, I told myself what I was going to do, and I found that I was able to do it with relative ease.

"I see the black/brown belts and think I'll never be able to do what they do so why am I bothering anymore. "