• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Gender Issue

:karate:

From the intro. page, I now feel welcome enough to ask a tough question. I recently went in an Aol standard MA post board. In a post titled " Am I the only 1." A female martial artists asked if she was the only female who loved martial arts and boxing. One person replied by using on of those oh-so-irritating Bruce Lee quotes. The post said " According to Bruce Lee, girls shouldn't be in Martial Arts. He said, " There is not an art stong enough to defend a women against a 300 lb. man." This angered me. I have been a Martial artist in two arts for 2 years and one month. I show talent in the martial arts, along with all of the young women at my school. Why is it that I am still treated, by people who hear of my martial arts training, as an inferior because of my gender? Do these people believe that reading Bruce Lee books and watching his movies is better than actual Martial Arts training and that thier ignorance is superior to my knowledge because I am a women?? Any responses?? Don't be shy. I can't be the only one who feels that this ignorance must stop??

Please reply,

My love to the M.A.'s,

Dee :bdaybiggrin:

Dee C.

Normal ( 'nor-m&l)-

an adj. used by humans to stereotype

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hiya, Dee. I'm with ya, gal. I'm also female, and I've been also training for two years in two arts. I haven't come across "gender" issues yet, but I know I did when I was a drummer. I always heard, "Girls can't play drums". I know it's the same in MA somewhere. It does piss me off, but I learned not to let it bother me. Some guys are affraid a female will show them up (sorry guys, but some men are like that :razz: :grin: ). They have to learn that this is not the "old fashion days" anymore.

Laurie F