• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

This week I started training at a MMA school. My first class was great. I felt really good about my performance with the striking drills and the jiu jitsu techniques we covered; however, I was a little disappointed with my sparring.

Before we began, the instructor told me that we were to go only 30% effort. It didn't take me long to realize that my sparring partners, including the instructor, were hitting harder than they proposed (I got rocked twice!) I found myself backing up a lot when my partner threw a barrage of punches and kicks. I was constantly being instructed not to do this, and I knew that I needed to circle out in these situations, considering that we were simulating fighting in a cage. It just seemed that I was having great difficulty defending combinations. I tried to circle and counter, but my instinct kept telling me to back away from the aggression. I was able to get in a few strikes of my own but felt that most of my time was spent ineffectively defending myself.

I know that a lot of my performance was due to inexperience, and I'm sure that I'll improve my technique and confidence as I continue. I was just wondering if anyone could give me any pointers to help me with my stand up game, particularly in dealing with a barrage of combinations being thrown at me.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

After a couple times that you actually DO get run into a wall, and then they use you as a speed bag, you should understand the whole "quit backing up" thing a bit better.