• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Teach For Free?!?

*Let me just say this first! I'm not a Lawyer nor am I licensed in any shape, way, and/or form to speak with knowledge concerning matters of law. Always seek any and all legal advise from a board certified Lawyer! Therefore, this topic is of my opinion and my opinion alone.

Most, if not all, students of the martial arts teach as part of their ranking. Usually, this begins for most, but not all, at Sankyu, 1st brown belt.

Once a student obtains Sankyu, that student starts to 'teach' other students, whether it's as an assistant to the Chief Instructor, or, when that Sandan starts to teach classes by themselves, while yet, still under the guidance of the Chief Instructor.

Irregardless of what the "Assistant Instructor" consists of, it's still UNDER the watchful eye of the Chief Instructor. Some Assistant Instructors (AI) will begin by teaching children and adult white belts. While some will teach only beginners until they're allowed to teach intermediate students. Then, once Shodan is achieved, this AI is allowed to teach advanced Kyu students. Then once Sandan has been achieved, this AI will now teach Kyu and Sho/Ni Dan classes by themselves. We all want excellent qualified instructors of the martial arts, and what better way to ensure this, but, through our guidance.

I was an AI from Sankyu to Sandan, a total of 11 years or so, with 5 of those years as a Jr. Black Belt. All of this time I never ONCE received a single penny or any deductions from my lessons/testing fees...NOT ONCE! BTW, I'm fine with this, but, this leads me to my question on this topic/thread.

IS HAVING OUR ASSISTANT INSTRUCTORS TEACH CLASSES, FOR ONE REASON OR ANOTHER, WITHOUT ANY FORM OF PAYMENT, ILLEGAL?