• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

kiai.... LOUDER!!!

well i've been having trouble with this one girl in class. everyclass when we do anything, she has a very very veeerrrry soft kiai where you can barely hear it. whenever we do kata, we can't get past the first move because my shihan wants me to start over and over again until she kiais loud enough.... but she never does. any suggestions?

proud brown belt of Fushin Ryu style!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You might just have to give her time. When I started training I would kiah so quietly that I couldn't even hear MYSELF. I had a brown belt work with me for an hour to try and get me to kiah louder. After that I kiahed loud enough for me to hear it, but no one else.

The thing was, it wasn't that I wasn't trying, I was just so so so so very shy that that was literally the best I could do at the time. It was years before I could kiah loud enough that others could hear me, and years still till I kiahed as loud as a yell.

If she is anything like myself, having her kiah again and again in front of the class will do the opposite of what you would like. Instead of helping, you may be pushing her further back into her shell.

One thing that DID help me was competing. It was through competing in forms competition that I eventually was able to kiah at a yell. When everyone else is screaming their head off, yelling loudly isn't quite as scary.

Your present circumstances don't determine where you can go; they merely determine where you start. - Nido Qubein