• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What does it really mean to be a black belt?

With all the different styles/schools/curriculum out there. What does it mean to be a black belt? Some are promoted to shodan after 2 years others take as long as 8 years. Should we have some type of standard in the MA world? Recently I had the pleasure of training with a Nidan in Kenpo. We spared for a couple of rounds and I was very dissappointed that he didn't seem to fight like a 2nd degree. I'd like to think that I am that good but I'm just a novice. Will we ever have anything close to standards in MA? When I think balck belt I think of someone who is very good, a master of the basics! Am I wrong to hold the title with such high regard?

The past is no more; the future is yet to come. Nothing exist except for the here and now. Our grand business is not to see what lies dimly at a distance, but to do what's clearly is clearly at hand...Lets continue to train!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeah; it's wrong to think that any two schools are going to rate people the same on an internal arbitrary ranking scale. It's also begging for ruin to expect that standards will be appointed from 'on high', as when that happens, generally the system turns to support the ones with the shoddy curriculum and low standards and expects the good teachers to teach badly to match.

"Anything worth doing is worth doing badly." - Baleia