• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

options

I live in a small town in alaska, Im new to all of this and I don't have the most money. I want to see if I could go through the belts (starting with white) and be able to train with weapons at the very beginning, would this be ok or would it mess with my training.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

First of all welcome to KF. There are other folks here better qualified to answer than me, but I'll give it a shot. I would think that every school is going to be a bit different; the dojo where I trained started teaching me bo and nun-chucks while I was still a white belt. But I bet with some schools / instructors don't move into weapons until you've got a good grasp of several empty hand katas. And some martial arts are based around weapons, so you're likely to use one very early in your training. It will depend on what styles are available in your area. Find out and talk to the instructors at those schools. Good luck!

Or up to the type of school you're attending. SOme school will have weapons on the sylabus very early and focus heavily on that aspect. Other schools may have little to no traditional weapons involved in the training.

Something else to look at is what kind of weapons you want to train with. Schools that have origins in Japanesse or Okinawa will teach drastically different weapons than those originating in the Phillipines.

Best bet is, as always, take a look at what you want to do then check out local schools and training groups to see what is the best fit. You might even stumble into something you were unaware of that appeals to you.

Good luck, let us know how the search goes. And welcome to KF.