• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Do you have a different punching and kicking stance?

When punching, my stance is almost frontal, like boxing. My guard is very much like boxing as well. With this stance, I am not very good at kicking, except for the very basic front kick, in a muay thai teep kind of way. Maybe a low but powerful mawashi geri kick, that's it.

When kicking... my whole stance changes. I stand sideways, my arms are up covering my face... a lot like taekwondo (funny, I do karate!). I can do mawashi geris, side kicks (my bread&butter kick) some front kicking, ushiro geri, hook kicks... but I am not very good at punching. Front jab, that's it.

How can I overcome this? Does this happen to any of you?

I blame the fact that in sparring you do all these funky strikes (haito, uraken, etc) which you do not use outside sparring.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Chose the structure base you WANT to use, and drill that hard instead of structures you wish to avoid; force yourself to do all of your techniques out of that stance in sparring, and heavily drill the kicks/punches that are based out of that stance.

Yes, that means you will lose for awhile while you're adjusting. Do not use any technique in sparring that you would not use outside of sparring, ever.

Sparring is a means to an end, and if you are focusing on "winning" sparring rather than using it to develop your skills, then sparring is a hindrance rather than a help.

"Anything worth doing is worth doing badly." - Baleia

It's been said many times that you'll fight the way you train. In an actual altercation, I'd rather do the boxing stance, guard up, front and Muay Thai kicks; i.e., nothing fancy.

I think your sparring is more towards sport for yourself, and I imagine you enter tournaments. Nothing wrong with that at all. Do what's fun, what makes you happy, in the martial arts.