• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Bunkai question...

NewLevel

Hey guys since I'm a newbie to the groove of things in MA, I have some questions.

My local MA class has about 7 people currently. We are focusing now on kihon in the styles we're studying which is Shorin Ryu Karate, Wing Chun, and Kobudo. My Master told me today that he basically, since we have a small group that we will be focusing more on the bunkai area after basics, since he specializes around that area. He said would focus on things in self-defense that work and things that don't work.

He told me we would also be doing kata. Since we have a small group sparring might not be practiced until we get a larger group. He said the traditional approach has everyone do the exact same thing for a period of time. But that method for a small class might not work well, but a larger class..yes. So...

Does it matter if I'm learning how to spar or are the techniques we learn from kihon or kata apply to sparring?

Do Kumite and bunkai differ from school to school since it is up to the instructor to develop them?

Do all dojos in all forms of MA teach self-defense?

Is there a separation between the art of MA and the fighting...or is the art basically training for fighting?

Thanks again!

"In time of grave public crisis, one must have the courage to face a million and one opponents..." - Gichin Funakoshi

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Does it matter if I'm learning how to spar or are the techniques we learn from kihon or kata apply to sparring?