• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

first tournament strategy

Greenfire54

Hey guys. im entering my first tournament two weeks from now. im new to the sport of karate and point sparring. Do you have any training and preparing tips or techniques that are effective in tournaments? thanks :karate:

Hon-Shin-Do=The way of the True Heart

Most men stop when they begin to tire. Good men go untill they think they are going to collapse. but the very best know the mind tires before the body and push themselves further and further beyond all limits. Only when all these limits are shattered can the unattainable be reached.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Three points to think about.

1. Keep it simple. Take two or three techniques and use them. More is not better.

2. Watch what's going on around you. Find a good technique, take it home and make it yours.

3. Enjoy yourself. I always liked tournaments. I'm jealous.

Those are pretty good tips.

Don't try to make things complicated, by trying obscure combinations or techniques that you have not yet practiced. Take what you have learned, and make it work for you. A good front leg front kick can help you maintain space. When you get close, the let those hands fly.

And, most important, keep your hands up! :)

Good luck, and let us know how it goes. :karate:

Absolutely even though you will see alot of experienced point fighters keeping their guard down . This will show you who trains for tourneys and who actually trains for a real fight. " Keep em up!

Good luck have fun and let us know how you do. :karate:

Semper Fi , Dave

Absolutely even though you will see alot of experienced point fighters keeping their guard down . This will show you who trains for tourneys and who actually trains for a real fight. " Keep em up!

Good luck have fun and let us know how you do. :karate: