• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Karate and Heart Attacks: Connection??

gensei

Hello.

I have been training for 6 or 7 years in Wado, and the more I research past masters of karate (and some other martial arts), the more I find have died early - usually around their early 70's or so - from heart attacks. What's more is that they were largely in decent shape -few were overweight or had terrible diets etc.

I'm just curious if anyone else has heard of or researched this.

Thanks,

TLL

A few examples I've found in a half-hour:

Chojun Miyagi

Masaru Shintani

Mabuni Kenwa

John McSweeney

Angel Kabales (escrima)

Taiji Kase (revived after heart attack)

Shigeru Kimura

Ken Eubanks

Marino Tiwanak

Wally Jay (jujitsu; survived heart attack)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

But also many masters in Okinawa have lived really long,particularly if you consider the hard times in their youth..Typical examples: Matsumura Bushi (92), Ankoh Itosu(83), Gichin Funakoshi(89),Shugoro Nakazato(90 and going)...

Lets add

Hirokazu Kanazawa (1931) 78 years old, not to old, but he still teaches

Teruyuki Okazaki (1931)

Kanei Uechi 1911-1991

Chojiro Tani 1920-1998

Kiyotada Sannosuke Ueshima (1893 - 1987)

Hironori Otsuka (1892–1982)

To fear death is to limit life - Xin Sarith Azuma Phan Wuku

The staple diet of the orient is fatty and unhealthy (e.g noodles, fried pork, fat rich sauces (e.g sweet and sour), etc etc). There is also the problem of genetics where those prone to heart attacks are going to pass this genetic trait off to their children. In these cases, where the japanese only have one child, there is very little genetic diversity so a minor problem over one generation will become a serious one several generations later.