• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

goranashi

crow

This is really getting to me now...does anybody know the Japanese meaning of this command(probably spelled wrong I know)? My Sensei tells me it means (to perform kata) without count. I'm studying Japanese and would like to know the kanji if possible.

Thanks

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
This is really getting to me now...does anybody know the Japanese meaning of this command(probably spelled wrong I know)? My Sensei tells me it means (to perform kata) without count. I'm studying Japanese and would like to know the kanji if possible.

Thanks

Crow, you're very close!

The phrase that you're seeking is Gorei nashi. Gorei is "counting/to act on command" and Nashi is "without/no," therefore, "Execute Kata without command."

Very important part of Kata training. It's one thing to give the students verbal counting cues while learning/performing Kata. It's a whole new world, at first, for students to not have those verbal counts in Kata learning/training. This, Gorei nashi, forces the student out of their comfort zone, and into relying on their own focus, timing, breathing, techniques, rhythm, speed, and stop/start to name just a few. All of this is related to it, Kata, being proper in its execution. Other commands that would compliment Gorei nashi are, Mo Ichido, which is "Repeat." The other would be Mo Ikkae, which is "Do it again."

I can write Gorei nashi in Kanji, but, I don't have that type of software on my computer to assist you with that; sorry!

Hopefully I've been of some assistance to you.

:)

**Proof is on the floor!!!

At our classes, we say it the easy way; in English...."your form, your count." Then we say sijak.

I know, I'm not any fun, using English....:D