• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

In a book I am reading, Total Aikido, there is this quote by Gozo Shioda (the author) in regards to the importance of the throw called Shio-nage (four directions throw) in the basics of Aikido:

Everyone, you may think "How should this technique be done," "How should that technique be done," but the thing to remember is, although there are many techniques, you must grasp the principles that underlie them. It comes down to shifting your balance quickly, moving your hands, feet, and hips as one. The basis of this is shiho-nage. As Ueshiba Sensei said, "To throw to the four directions, this is the essence of Aikido. Therefore, shiho-nage on its own, if performed correctly, is sufficient.

For those with more experience than mine in Aikido, do you find this to be the case? If so, how so? I am still new to Aikido, so I wanted to see what others had to say.

The idea of understanding the underlying principles makes good sense to me; this is true with all concepts Martial. Seeing it put into the Aikido perspective helps to give some of my out-of-class training some more focus.

• 2 weeks later...
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I think what Shioda Sensei is referring to is the way tori and uke move individually, as well as together, how their energy is linked into, exchanged, blends and is directed, how, once begun, all of this inexorably leads up to the completion of the throw. This specific type of body movement and energy exchange / direction is the heart of Aiki.