• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

leaving my sensei?

unknownstyle

i would like to hear your opinions on my situation.

my instructor has created his own system, presently i am the only active dan ranking student and i teach a majority of the classes at our dojo. when i started training under him he taught his base system Matsumura Seito Shorin Ryu, i am thinking of joining the organization he broke away from, the only catch to this is the only way they will let me continue in their system is by cutting ties and not training under him at all.

my instructor is really ll that i have had to look up to as a positive male role model, he has done alot for me and molded me into the person i am today. is it wrong for me to possibly ruin all of that just so i can continue my training the proper way?

"Live life easy and peacefully, but when it is time to fight become ferocious."

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What is "improper" about the way that you train now? Do you feel the training is genuine, and that you are learning something that is effective? If that is the case, then I would stay with him.

What is "improper" about the way that you train now? Do you feel the training is genuine, and that you are learning something that is effective? If that is the case, then I would stay with him.

I agree with this sentiment. What would the org offer you that your instructor can't or doesn't?

"Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it." ~ Confucius

i would like to hear your opinions on my situation.