• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Using blocking techniques

I have been learning martial arts for about five months now and I was wondering, in a real self-defense situation do you think you would use the blocking techniques like you learn in class. I feel like I wouldn't because things happen fast. It seems to me that in order to use them effectively, you need repetitive practice with someone comeing at you to do real damage and you use a particular technique over and over. Am I just not patient enough? Does this come in time?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yes, Mr. Man. With lots of practice, it'll come. Just don't give up. I used to be the same way, prolly worse than you. I was good at blocking with my face in sparring when I started. The important thing is for you right now, is keep your hands up. It makes it easier to block (quicker I mean), because your hands are ready. If you "dangle" your hands, you would have to bring them up then block. So if you keep them up (kinda like boxers do protecting the chin), it'll be much faster. And with patientance and practice, you'll be a pro at it :smile:

Laurie F

Depends. Not all martial arts will teach effective methods of blocking, so maybe not all of the blocks you study could be used. However, a whole slew of blocks are effective and will be used in a fight. Practice hard. Patience. It WON'T happen in under a year. Don't expect to be proficient in the art until you've given yourself plenty of time. 5mos. is new, so don't feel frustrated. Time, patience, and hard practice. If you don't put the effort you won't get the reward. Like the old adage, "you reap what you sow."

"I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination.

Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." Einstein