• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Seiza Problems

nanook660

I have been doing Wado Ryu for almost 5 months now and I still cannot sit in Seiza Position. It is too painful still.

Does anyone have any suggestions or exercises that I can do?

Fran

The only difference between the possible and the impossible is one's will.

- Hironori Ohtsuka Sensei -

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I find that practicing on the carpet at home helps me.

What is too painful? Ankles, knees or other?

Ankles, knees, and my thighs are painful.

I think most people find it painful to begin with. it gets easier the more you do it, but even when your used to it, your feet will still go numb from loss of blood supply if you sit in Seiza for too long.

"They can because they think they can." - School Motto.

(Shodan 11th Oct 08)

I think most people find it painful to begin with. it gets easier the more you do it, but even when your used to it, your feet will still go numb from loss of blood supply if you sit in Seiza for too long.

I am practicing at home and I am getting there slowly.

Hi nanook660,

I notice your avatar displays a Wado Ryu Renmei / Academy badge.

If you are with this group your are well equipped.

Mr Shiomitsu is a very knowledgeable instructor who is an expert in how to perform correct wado "za rei".

As far as the pain is concerned, you should ask your sensei, as it may be something to do with your body posture and how you are distributing your weight. If you are allowing your buttocks to rest on your heels for example, you are sitting too far back. This could be forcing the tops of your feet into the ground. If you are pitching forward the weight will be pushing through your knees etc.