• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Advice for a professional sportsman

Squawk

Hi Guys,

After a cold call from the local Karate club recently I am contemplating taking up a martial art. I am however a complete novice and so some advice would be much appreciated.

To enable this to be as specific as possible please find below a bit of information about me and my goals upon taking up a martial art.

About me:

I am a 26 year old male professional golfer playing golf for a living. I am 5ft 11, athletic build but probably a bit overweight (18-19% body fat, 12 stone 6 ish), am fairly fit through running but could certainly be much fitter. I have lifted weights in the past but not for a while due to an injury last year which has now healed, but haven't had the motivation to start again.

My goals:

My goals would be three fold. To get fitter and more flexible, to improve my balance and co-ordination, and obviously to learn to defend myself. The first two would obviously help with the golf, the third is a happy co-incidence and is something I have thought about for a long time.

Hard sparring styles are not an option due to the risks to my golf, I can't afford to get injured though training, so styles such as BJJ and Judo are probably out.

The local Karate club does sound appealing, its one of the GKR branches, if thats whats there called.

http://www.ilovegkr.com/

They guy who cold called spent a bit of time with me and the training regime seems about right, but as a novice with MA and my knowledge with professional sport I appreciate better than most just how poor a position I am to judge at this stage.

Basically I would like advice on whether or not that style of karate does seem like a good way to go, would there be a better alternative, what kind of things should I expect in the first few months and so on.

Thanks in advance, any info required pls ask.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt