• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Krav Maga

I have been training in "traditional martial arts" all my ife, and I am also a Defensive Tactics Instructor for the Law Enforcement. I have recently taken an interest in Krav Maga.

My question is, has anybody had problems going from Karate to Krav Maga.

I plan to continue my Karate training, I just thought Krav Maga would be interesting to train in.

Also, I plan in attending probably no more than one Krav Maga session a week due to work and other obligations.

What does the forum think?????

Thanks

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I don't think you'll have a problem at all. I took a Krav Maga class and it seemed really straight forward. I feel that its not a very technical style, which is good for teaching self defense. It should be easy to learn for everyone.

"It is easier to find men who will volunteer to die, than to find those who

are willing to endure pain with patience."

"Lock em out or Knock em out"

I was training in tang Soo Do before moving over to Krav Maga. No problems at all although the flexibility from TMA had helped me somewhat and I was fortunate that my TSD instructor was very much into conditioning as this was something Krav Maga is very big on as well.

"You know the best thing about pain? It let's you know you're not dead yet!"

http://geshmacheyid.forumotion.com/f14-self-defense

One of the great things about Krav Maga is that it was developed with soldiers who only had three solid weeks of good hand to hand combat training time in mind. In those three weeks they had to learn how to basically defend themselves. Understandably there is a limit to how far you can go with that much time, but Litchenfeld worked hard to make sure they could become as skilled as possible in that amount of time.

If anything ,your karate training will mean some simple stuff comes naturally to you. You know how to not hurt your fist when you punch etc.