• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Is this correct?

Hey everyone. I'm no TKD expert. I saw this video and was wondering if it's correct that they all bob up and down throughout the form. The reason I ask is because (as a general rule) in most karate kata, that would be a mistake.

"It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenius."

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Bobbing up and down or "sine wave" is usually an ITF/G. Choi thing. The idea is that you relax your muscles causing your knee to drop and then you rise up and finish with a downward motion. Loads of arguements of whether it works or not or whether it has any actually use. This article goes over the main points comparing it to the usual hip/snap method of power:

http://tkdtutor.com/06Concepts/Power/HipSnapWindingSineWave/HipSnapWindingSineWave01.htm

It tends to get over exaggerated in tournaments or sometimes people do the movement slightly wrong creating a saw-tooth shape rather than something along the lines of a sine curve. General Choi explaining how it should be done:

Hope that helped. :karate:

"Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it." ~ Confucius

Thanks for the info. Just wondered whether it was poor technique. It would seem that they are performing it correctly for their system.

The sine wave continues to be a curiosity, I think. I practice the same system of forms that Gen. Choi designed, but without the sine wave.

I think that the sine wave, done properly, is supposed to facilitate what is basically a "body drop" or "gravity drop" upon completion of the technique. The body drop uses gravity to drive more power into the finish of the technique.