• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

The blurring of arts

So I started training in Kung Fu again recently, although most of my life I've studied mostly Tae Kwon Do because I love it. Anyways..I was able to do some advanced forms fairly quickly..and noticed the techniques were roots for moves I had already learned in TKD.

Has anyone else ever studied more than one martial art, and almost had them finally blur together..I think this is theoretically true for probably all martial arts since they all have roots that are the same.

"If I tell you I'm good, you would probably think I'm boasting, but if I tell you I'm no good, you know I'm lying."

- Bruce Lee

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeh, but i think that t makes sese for two reasons:

1. Japanese Karate does have its roots in Kung Fu

2. The idea is to effectively defend yourself- if there is a great thing to do in a fight (like a punch) many different cultures would probably come up with the same thing, simply because they have the same tools (human body) and same goals.

You suck-train harder.......................Don't block with your face

A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.

-Lao Tzu

2. The idea is to effectively defend yourself- if there is a great thing to do in a fight (like a punch) many different cultures would probably come up with the same thing, simply because they have the same tools (human body) and same goals.

I agree. All around the world, the human body moves the same, breaks the same, etc. Therefore, it is not unreasonable to think that many styles have similarities. I have seen similarities in styles as far apart as Jujitsu and the hand-to-hand combat of Medieval Europe.