• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Karate via a travel fellowship - please help!

craznhorse

Hello everyone!

My name is Vincent, and I am a 21-year-old college student in Los Angeles, CA. I came across this forum while doing research for a travel fellowship I am applying for called the Watson Fellowship. Basically I am competing for a grant to travel anywhere outside the United States to do a personal project of my own choosing.

I have been very passionate about martial arts ever since I began training in Shotokan Karate three years ago. I have since then also picked up a little bit of Kokikai Aikido. I am interested in learning about martial arts around the world, not only for my own training enrichment, but more importantly to understand how they affect the various people who practice martial arts as a lifelong endeavor. Of course, karate will be a key component in my journey!

Since I have the opportunity to go anywhere I choose, it would be possible for me to come to Japan and study Karate-do at its source. I have come to ask for the help of the international Karate community in this pursuit. I appreciate any advice, references, warnings, suggestions, or encouragement you may have for me. Osu!

-Vincent

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt