• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Small joint manipulation in JJJ and BJJ

While I have no experience with JJJ, supposedly it teaches more small joint manipulation as in comparison with its Brazilian offspring (which tends to focus on the larger joints). My questions are this:

A: Why was it taken out of BJJ?

B: What are the pros and cons of small joint locks?

C: Why is it not allowed in MMA?

Don't hit at all if it is honorably possible to avoid hitting; but never hit soft.

~Theodore Roosevelt

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Small_joint_manipulation

Small joint manipulation is an illegal technique in most combat sports that feature joint locking such as Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Judo, mixed martial arts and Sambo, since unlike standard joint locks, there is less of an opportunity to tap out before the small joint breaks.

Battling biomechanical dyslexia since 2007

I think that the decrease in the use of small-joint manipulation helps to increase the time spent in randori. I think this because it is easier to fall and roll with a shoulder lock than a finger twist. I could be wrong, though.

A: Why was it taken out of BJJ?

They are still allowed in the ADCC (not including fingers, but wrists and ankles are fair game). Professor Sauer, Royler Gracie, David Adiv, Rickson Gracie, and Helio Gracie still teach them. I think most sport oriented schools have removed them completely. Only a few of us use them and even then it's only on our instructor (cause he can recognize them fast enough to tap or escape). A more novice practitioner would probably fight it and get hurt.
B: What are the pros and cons of small joint locks?
Pros, they are very effective and because the leverage of the opponent is so great. Con: Very difficult to get the right grips smoothly before the opponent can defend.