• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

My six year old son

Buster

Hi folks.

This is my first time posting on here and i'm looking for some advice.

My six year old son is currently studying karate at our local club.

On sunday he did his grading to attain his 6th kyu green belt in Sei-Do-Kai style.During the grading he was very restless and did'nt stay in his stance all the time.He did his combinations and his Katas like all the other kids at the grading.

At the end of the grading,the instructor lined all the kids up and told them their scores.He picked fault with all of them,without a positive word to say to any of them.He then got on to my son and told him that he had failed him ,but the other two instructors had passed him and that he was going to hold him back from the group.

Now iv'e been sitting in watching this class twice a week and I know that none of the group are any better than my son.I also sat in on the grading and watched that too.There were some that did better,but none that really shone.

My question to you is should the instructor do this or should he put that liitle bit more time in to help him stay with the group that he's always been with?

p.s he picked him up for lack of stength and concentration.

he's six years old and the grading lasted for an hour and a half,with a 3 minute drink break.

should we stick with this or perhaps look for another club?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

A no-change from a testing is nothing to be that worried about. It will make him better in the end, as long as you push through it. This is how I view the Martial Arts; it is a life-long journey, so what does it matter if you get held up on the way? There shouldn't be an end, so you just keep going.