• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I am not an expert...so I wanna practice technique and no a brute force submision sparring. I am more built than many of my mates but I do not wanna rely on my strenght because the strenght is something I have , and a good technique is something I dont. If I wanna use massive strenght , I go to lift weights.

The problem is , that I have some pals who got desperated when I grab them , and they start pushing, twisting themselves and moving like mad monkeys.... And I am not good with a fast technique enought to stop them.

I can stop them in the same way they act , but I am triying to improve my technique... I do not wanna be another monkey and turn the sparring in sort of ape vs monkey fight....

´´ The evil may win a round , but not the fight ´´

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I think if you stay relaxed and continue to use your technique when rolling with these guys, you will begin to see the rewards. However, don't think that it is a bad thing to use your strength when you have to. After all, there are reasons for being strong, and that is one of them. Use your strength when you have to, and your technique when you can. It will provide a nice balance.

Many beginners face the same problem you're having. Honestly, the best bet is to aviod grappling them until they learn to settle down a little bit. Grapple with the more experienced people in class. They will be more relaxed and you will have more chance to work technique instead of strength. You'll learn alot more that way.

If that's not an option, keep the guys in your closed guard. It's kinda like taming a wild bronco. The first thing you need to do is get them in a corral. Then you can start working the techniques to tame them. It's the same with the guys your talking about. Keep them in closed guard and work your submission and sweep setups from there. Of course...that's always easier said than done.