• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Get past mental block of actually hitting someone

DisgruntledGirl

I'm still a bit of a beginner and in our class we dont really free spar unitll weve gotten a few basic techniques down and have gone through some very rehearsed 3 point sparring type things (so basically not untill you are yellow belt) etc.

Well last night was my first night of what I guess you'd call free sparring. I think I evaded pretty well... but I found that I hardly ever even *tried* to hit the man (my Sensei). I have a mental block that "I dont wanna hurt anyone!!" even though I know that I am probably really not gonna hurt the sensei all that bad, I still couldnt get over it. I think I would handle myself a bitt better/differently if it was against someone who I didnt care for or was actually trying to hurt me (woulda hit a lot more to the groin)... but against someone that "hasnt done anything to me" I just have a hard time.

Any tips on getting over this mental block or is this just one of them things that will just come with time and practice? :-? :karate: :-?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

You get over that real quick after he hits you. When your sparring you have to put yourself in a different mental state, your training to fight so the person your sparring is an opponent at that point in time, nothing more , nothing less.

Tang Soo!

That is good advise. If you get popped a few times, you start to lose that feeling about you. You just need to spend more time doing it, and forcing yourself to commit. It will come with time.

I had trouble with this at first, too. I don't know what changed, but over time, it became less of "I'm supposed to just hit someone who's just standing there looking at me?" and more of a game- not something bad to do to someone.

You suck-train harder.......................Don't block with your face