• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Using Kata in a Fight - Keep It Simple

Shorin Ryuu

I am a traditional martial artist and I believe strongly that training kata can lead directly to increased fighting skill. However, in order for this to happen, you must have kata that are worth doing, you must fight the same way you do kata, and you must have a teacher who knows the meaning behind the kata. One easy way to judge a kata's effectiveness is observing how simple both the explanation and the movement is. Advanced karate isn't a matter of advanced techniques, it is a matter of how advanced you can perform the basics.

Chibana Sensei always used to say that if you had to change the movement of your kata to match your meaning, then your meaning is wrong. (For background, "meaning" or "imi" was the word most commonly used to describe what a movement meant in a kata. The word bunkai is a relatively newer phenomenon.) In other words, how you move in the kata is how you move in a fight. There is no point in continuous repetition of a move that you are going to do completely differently in a fight. There is the obvious slight modification due to your opponent's size, etc., but the core movement is the same. The core process of what you do and how your body does it is the same.