• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

How good do YOU think you are?

Most of the martial artists I know are fairly humble. Even those who've trained for many years think of themselves as students even as they teach. A key difference between this forum and some others out there is that this one tends to attract people who still think they have a lot to learn regardless of how long they've trained, in how many styles they've trained, what belts they may hold, and/or how lethally they can fight.

I think we often feel less capable at fighting than we think others are, or even than others may tell us they think we are. How good do YOU think you are? What do you think you do well, and what not so well? What is your greatest strength and your greatest weakness? What would you most like to get better at?

An honest self-assessment is difficult. I'll go first: I am an older martial artist who has sampled many styles but not excelled at any of them. Being in the military, I have never been around long enough to train consistently in any one style or at any one place. As a result, my style is fairly hodge-podgy. I fight naturally more like a kickboxer than a karate guy. My lower body is fairly tight and kicks are difficult for me. I am aggressive and resilient but slender and older. I find it difficult to swivel my hips which keeps me from being as powerful as I'd like. I stay calm under pressure, have a good jab, and can switch stances easily. I don't move my head nearly enough so I absorb too many face shots. I am too much of a headhunter on my opponents. I am in decent shape but get winded after about a minute and a half of uninterrupted full contact, full speed Muay Thai.