• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Okay so i have been doing BJJ for 3 months now :)

been going constantly and my friend wanted me to show what ive learned

he is about 180 and im about 150.

So he came at me not holding anything back and i immediately got him a

full guard but heres the problem.

Everytime i wuold get him in the full guard he would just simply lift me off

the floor and id eventually have to let go of my guard to avoid being

dropped on the ground :bawling:

So basically i couldnt really show him any moves coz of that problem.

Does anyknow know to counter this?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

150 and 180 isn't too bad of a difference. I'm not really qualified to put in much seeing as how you have probably 3X the experience that I do :( but...I'll try :D

I guess for starters get a hold onto one of his arms to help pull you up...have you tried moving your heels up farther into his back? Get 'em up high enough there and dig in! If you pull it off right he shouldn't be able to stand up TOO much. If you can get up there fast enough you could attempt an arm bar or triangle or somethin'...

Mind you, I couldn't do any of what I just wrote! :dodgy:

Don't hit at all if it is honorably possible to avoid hitting; but never hit soft.

~Theodore Roosevelt

The closed guard isn't meant to be held forever. It is just a temporary method of controlling the opponent's hips. When the oppoenent stands you should be sweeping him and reversing your position. Start working on your open guard.

"It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenius."

The closed guard isn't meant to be held forever. It is just a temporary method of controlling the opponent's hips. When the oppoenent stands you should be sweeping him and reversing your position. Start working on your open guard.

oh i see..