• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Question about fingers.

Kain

Hello there, everyone. Glad I found this Forum.

As I say in my post at the Introduction section, I am a 9 kyu Shotokan student. I study Shotokan for over a year, though I took the exams for the next belt only once (various reasons for that, time to take it seriously :karate: ).

I am the only one at my class who can do push-ups with only the fingers instead of the whole palm, and I'm kinda proud of it. My recod is 15 in a raw and 50 in a day (in an hour, to be precice). I train my fingers at the end of every lesson (5 one hour lessons every week) and I wanted to ask some questions and, of course, for some advice.

First question: I admit it, I bite my nails, and quite badly, too. Is this going to affect my finger training? (If you know a way to make me stop it, please go ahead and tell me).

Second one: I train my fingers because I want to learn to hit in nerves to make numb parts of the body. Is there any specific style for that? If not, where should I look for help in learning where and how to hit?

Final question: Can doing finger push ups damage my fingers at any way? And is there a wrong and a right way to do this excercise?

I'm also open for advices in that matter!

Sorry if my English were bad at times, gonna excercise the language too :roll: . (Me from Greece)

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.

--Confucius

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

1- i used to do that too when i was a teen, then i just stoped doing it one day, i gotta tell you my finger got infected once. at least wash your hand all the time. it won't affect your finger training

2- there are many style which use finger strikes, any style based on crane , mantis or snake would use fingers. I practice white crane and we use lots of finger strikes, i also do push ups on the fingers and some other training.