• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I've been thinking about this a lot lately, and I think I'm going to start competing. So I (being a COMPLETE newbie at this) need to know what a first-timer should expect? Or tips/ things I SHOULD know before I compete.

I just don't want to make an idiot of myself.

If you're not laughin', you're not livin'!--Carlos Mencia

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

First rule: practice, practice, and practice some more. Drill you form until you have it down. When you think you have it, do it some more. The last thing you want to do is freeze up and forget it. When preparing for a tournament, I like to break the form up into sections, and work on it that way, so I can give special focus and extra reps to the tough spots.

If you plan to spar, find out from your instructor what the rules system will be. Then, work on some sparring strategies that will work for you. Also, spar against as many different partners as you can, in order to get a feel for different fighting types.

Second rule: Don't get too wound up if you don't place. Experience is a valuable teacher in competitions. The more you do it, the easier it is to know what to expect. You will most likely be nervous, so breath, and try to relax, and go out and have fun! No matter what happens, you will learn something new, and that is the best thing you will take away from it.

Best of luck, and let us know how it goes!! :karate:

Second rule: Don't get too wound up if you don't place. Experience is a valuable teacher in competitions. The more you do it, the easier it is to know what to expect. You will most likely be nervous, so breath, and try to relax, and go out and have fun! No matter what happens, you will learn something new, and that is the best thing you will take away from it.