• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Straight arm counter

Ive been doing judo for a few months now and have a question about randori. How do you counter/deal with someone keeping a straight arm on you. I always seem to find that my opponent keeps a straight arm and I am unable to get in close for a throw.

Any help appreciated

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Instead of trying to throw, try to sweep him instead. Or, you could turn into him with your opposite shoulder, wrapping his straight arm around your body, and then hip throwing him.

I don't have much experience with throws, but thinking in my head, it may work.

in a tournament, guys who straight arm usually get penalized for stalling, as it's hard for anyone to attack while getting straight armed. How good is your kumi kata? use it - break his grip on you. also, smack his arm upward, lower your level, as if you are shooting in for a takedown and move in. There are several ways to get around it, but they are difficult to explain in few words.

I really hate it when people stiff arm in training, because nobody learns anything.

in a tournament, guys who straight arm usually get penalized for stalling, as it's hard for anyone to attack while getting straight armed. How good is your kumi kata? use it - break his grip on you. also, smack his arm upward, lower your level, as if you are shooting in for a takedown and move in. There are several ways to get around it, but they are difficult to explain in few words.

I really hate it when people stiff arm in training, because nobody learns anything.

I have not had any experience with this. I didn't realize it caused so many problems. I guess in competition, it would be hard to get around. On the street, you could probably have a field day with that straight arm.

Drop to guard and armbar.