• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Catstance

Dresden

I studied Shotokan for many years at a sparring oriented dojo,with little emphasis placed on kata.Shotokan katas use mostly backstance as opposed to catstance.18 months ago I started studying traditional Okinawan Shorin Ryu with a HEAVY emphasis on kata.This style employs catstance exstensively and mine STINKS!!!I am 46,6ft tall and weigh 210.Ive worked construction for many years and am in real good shape.I can do sidesplits and lay my chest on the ground so I dont feel that I have flexibility issues.My problem is that in catstance I can get very little bend in my back knee while keeping my back straight.Can someone offer advice please?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You should lower your hips a bit while keeping shoulders over your hips. That should help. :)

The best victory is when the opponent surrenders

of its own accord before there are any actual

hostilities...It is best to win without fighting.

- Sun-tzu

I have found, even though I like to think I am in pretty good shape too, that strengthening my leg muscles has helped my stances a great deal.

Even though I have been lifting weights for 28 years, the way the muscles are used in stances is totally different from how they are used in when lifting. Even though I would assume you are strong from working construction, the muscles used on your job are probably much different than those used when doing stances.

One of the things that has helped me is holding the stance for a period of time. As an example, my horsestance needed a lot of work so I would hold the stance, in a position even lower than normal, for say 60 seconds and then each time I would do it, I would try to increase the time even if it was only 5 seconds more.