• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

High Kicks

Black_Crane

Hey all,

I've been a member for a while, but just stood on the side lines watching so to speak.

Ive been doing karate for bout 17-18 months, and i just passed my green belt. When i looked at the techniques ill be graded on for my next belt, i saw Mawashi Geri Jodan or Roundhouse kick to the head. This is a part of my training that ive kind of neglected. I can do a Front kick to the head, same with Side and Hook kicks, but Roundhouse just, well yeah, im running into a bit of trouble with trying to get it to the right height.

Anyways, could someone give me some advice or anything regarding how i can improve my flexibility and strength for Roundhouse kick to the head?

Thanks

First there was darkness, and then there was light, then i was created, and only darkness followed.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the forums, Black Crane. Glad you are here!

As for your situation. First of all, make sure to stretch a lot. Every time your muscles are warm, do some stretching if you can. You can also stand with your arm against a wall for support, and get into kicking postition. Chamber your leg, and hold it high for 10 seconds. Then, slowly kick out, and hold the extended kick for 10 seconds as high as you can. Make sure it hurts, and your hip is knotting up. Then rechamber, and hold for 10 seconds again, and set down. Repeat 3 times or 5 times on each leg.

This should help you out.

Oh, yeah, and remember to stretch!

Remember...Mawashi Geri Jodan means. Your OWN head height. Not Kareem Abdul Jabarr's head height.