• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I'm new to the whole MMA thing and martial arts, in general. My main goal is to learn something that is street effective. I know the ideal is to be well rounded in all aspects of fighting, but there aren't any MMA specific schools in my area. And I'm not looking to enter the UFC anyway. I just want to learn a grappling style that can help me defend myself.

I am primarily deciding between judo and Brazilian jiu-jitsu. Here are my questions:

1. Do you think judo is an effective form of self-defense (even w/o gi)?

2. Which is better for the street, judo or BJJ? And why?

Your thoughts are most welcome and appreciated.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

judo is very effective, because the training is based around fighting with a resisting partner.

judo, from observation, seems to involve a bit more stand up clinch stuff which i think is very important for street fighting. from what i've seen of BJJ the clinch is pretty much bypassed and you're straight on the ground. judo seems to give you more skills to put your opponent on the floor and get out of the situation, which IMO is the priority in a street fight. BJJ teaches you to finish the fight on the ground. while this often works, its not the most favorable street option IMO.

so i would say judo, but then i don't actually practice either of these styles.

"Gently return to the simple physical sensation of the breath. Then do it again, and again, and again. Somewhere in this process, you will come face-to-face with the sudden and shocking realization that you are completely crazy. Your mind is a shrieking, gibbering madhouse on wheels." - ven. henepola gunaratana