• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Need Advice on Side Kick

I have been training for about 5 yrs and am about 9 months away from black, and my side kick stinks. Eight months ago I had back surgery, fusion all that good stuff so I've been back since April, and I have trouble with my chamber, it seems to hurt in my periformis area and there is no power. I'm not sure it is a function of my lower back because the kick really wasn't that great before, :brow: it is frustrating because I feel confident about the power and height in all of my other kicks, can still kick above my head on all of them, and with power, but the side kick is barely waist high. Any suggestions on training or anyone who has had a similar challenge? :karate:

"All your life you are told the things you cannot do. They will say you're not good enough, strong enough or talented enough; you're the wrong height or the wrong weight or the wrong type to play this or achieve this. THEY WILL TELL YOU NO, a thousand times no, until all the no's become meaningless. ………..….

“AND YOU WILL TELL THEM YES."

Nike Ad.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

You may need to strengthen the muscles that hold the side kick up. Put your hand on the wall, and point your base foot at the wall. Then, hold your straight leg out at waist level (or as high as you can), and do leg lifts, up and then down, slow and controlled. Then do side kicks from that wall position, without setting the leg down. Make sure your hip turns over, and line up your heel, knee, hip, and shoulder.

You may also need to admit that after back surgery you may just not be able to do some of the things you could before. The hips and the spine are two of the main axes on the body and problems with either of them can reduce funtionality.

Long Live the Fighters!