• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I started training in muay thai a year ago and I really enjoy it. I'm out of school now and I hope to travel to Thailand in the near future. I already started finding travel info, but what I really want to know is if there are muay thai schools and/or training camps that accept foreigners as old as me (I'm 23..Thais start training at like 7 years old) and how to find them. I'd love to be able to train in Thailand.

Another thing, how do I go about finding some place to stay while I'm there? When I went to travel websites, all the accomodations were hotels, and I don't want to do that. If I do go I'd like to stay for at least a couple of months. What about the Thai language? Can you get by without it? I hear it's really tough to learn. I'd love to hear from anyone who has been to Thailand.

Thanks.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Give Sohan a PM, I think he had some info on the subject. There was also and individual posting here on his current training in Thailand as a foriegner. Can't remember his username for the life of me, though.

Been to thailand many times without incident. Actually trained in a camp that rarely if any time had foreigners in it. It was actually the best experience of my entire life! We struggled through communication but I never had such training ever. Its a great place to train and dont let nothing hold you back from doing it.....

Have a look at the wmtc website. They have a camp in Koh Samui which would be a good place to start with your experience.

There was a good site called muaythailand.com but its down at the moment.

I had a bunch of links but lost them when my computer crashed.

Not much help am I!

Maybe take a look at axkickboxing.com. Might find some info there.

Otherwise just do a search for muaythai camps. There are quite a few with English sites, and any of them will take you on regardless of age.

They want your money! :D