• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

hi im new here and im new to MA (i did a couple of months of karate when i was a kid). Im quite interested in boxing and muay thai and since my exams got over ive been looking for a place to train. I have a couple of questions that u can hopefully answer.

Ok first im 18 is that a good time to start kick boxing, or am i late?

2nd i wear glasses (as in spectacles), will they be a problem for me while training?(i just want to train as a hobby nothing to serious,at the moment anyway)

finally the center i found offers boxing,kick boxing and thai boxing. i done some research and have some idea of the differences. one of the offers lets me have unlimited classes for all 3. Is it going to have a negative on me (MA learning related OR physically) if i train 3 different types of boxing at the same time?

Thks

Orcrist

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

1. You're at a great age to start, even if you wanted to compete. Since you're a hobbyist, you'd be fine even if you were 50.

2. Glasses and kickboxing don't mix. You could get contacts, but they may pop out. Boxers almost always opt for PRK instead of LASIK because there isn't as much chance of being permanently blinded by a punch. Don't know if that's in your budget or not...

3. Kind of overkill to train all three of those arts. Muay Thai will offer you the most weapons, and it's best to stick with one art until you get proficient. Besides, once you do MT you probably won't want to do just boxing or American-style kickboxing anyway.

With respect,

Sohan

"If I cannot become one of extraordinary accomplishment, I will not walk the earth." Zen Master Nakahara Nantenbo

"A man who has attained mastery of an art reveals it in his every action." Samuarai maxim

"Knowing others is wisdom; knowing yourself is Enlightenment." Lao-Tzu

Hi Sohan thks for replying i have a few questions about what u said.