• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Question for Kyokushin students

The Search

Hey Everyone! Great Frorum! First Martial art forum I have found that isnt full of Pointless Egotisical "Opinion Wars"

Anyway, I am currently a Wing Chun/ BJJ Student, And I love it!

Problem is I am moving back to NZ for uni... the city where i am going doesnt have a good WC school, so i have been looking for something else.

I am quite interested in Kyokushin, I like the Spiritual quality, and Strong/hard training methods(knowlege gained from internet research)

The town where i am going has a kyokushin school with good reputation.

But I have recently been watching video clips of kyokushin tournaments, and it seemed to me that because of the rule of no punching to the head, the competitors guard(arms) were very sloppy and tucked in to protect the body. and they mainly used there arms to push away or create space for kicking....

I am not criticising this, I understand that under the given rules, this is an effective technuique.

I am wondering if this is a reflection of typical kyokushin style?

if you were in a streetfight would you still face up like that?

if you were in an mma fight, would you feel much more comfortable kicking than boxing?

I am doing mma type traing at the moment and would not last a second without a strong guard.

thanks for any help!

With All Due Respect,

The Search

The Way is not in the sky, The Way in the heart.

[buddha]

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Dear friend:

I am a student of Shito-ryu Karate-do but between my friends this one a group of Kyoskushinkai called Yuwa-kai in Mexico Country. They invite me to train with them and I help them in your examinations doing Kumite. Is very hard style.