• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Newbie question for how to get started.

Hello all;

I am new to martial arts, and only just recently have decided that in this stage of life its time to work on myself. A little background on me, I am 30 years old, overweight 240 at 5'6 tall. I have just recently went though a divorce and have decided that life is too short and its time to take care of myself. I am looking for a style of martial arts/self-defense I can get into that doesnt involve a lot of kicking. I have just had hip surgey and cant do a lot of kicking, a friend of mine told me to look at Aikido or Hapikdo since its mainly useing the force of the other person to flip or lock them down or pressure points. I do like the pressure points, flips, and lock styles since there is not a whole lot of kicking involved and would like to stay around that same style. I can kick but I just dont expect me to do any round house or stuff like that. I have started a great weight training program and I would also like to learn something in martial arts for self-defense. Any help would be appreciated, on this subject.

Thanks

Anvil

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Most hapkido schools do quite a bit a kicking. And in most hapkido schools and pretty much all aikido schools you will be doing a whole bunch of breakfalls - they can be tough on you physically - you might want to wait on that until you hip is better. Perhaps escrima/kali might be a better choice for you right now. Having a weapon would be a great equalizer for lack of mobility.

ichi-go ichi-e

一期一会

one encounter, one chance

Most martial arts will involve a lot of hip movement. Often I find that the kicks bother my hips less than the rest of the stuff we do!