• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Why do you train...do you get into fights often?

Why do you train in martial arts?  

39 members have voted

1. 1. Why do you train in martial arts?

• I get into fights often
    • I live/work in a dangerous or threatening environment
    • I am a serious or professional competitor
    • I like the excercise and enjoy the training
    • Not sure

On many of the threads there is much posted about the effectiveness or lack of effectiveness of a martial art. Of course I like having the ability to fight and defend myself, but I personally have never gotten into a street fight as an adult and prefer not to. Even if I did get into a fight, I think it's more likely to be a guy at a bar throwing a haymaker or trying to tackle me rather than squaring off against a skilled fighter. I train more to stay in shape and stay focused.

Since my school is in a suburban community, most of my students are here to work out and be challenged, but I don't think they actually get into street fights either.

I'm interested to know how many people train because they actually need to because they fight often or live/work in a dangerous area where they feel threatened, and how many train just because they like the training.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If I never even came close to getting in a fight in my life, and I was 7 feet tall, 320 lbs with the quickness of a cat, I'd still practice MA.

I just like it.

Respectfully,

Sohan

"If I cannot become one of extraordinary accomplishment, I will not walk the earth." Zen Master Nakahara Nantenbo

"A man who has attained mastery of an art reveals it in his every action." Samuarai maxim

"Knowing others is wisdom; knowing yourself is Enlightenment." Lao-Tzu