• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Comparing two styles of TKD forms.

Ok. I have a 2nd degree black belt in two differnent TKD associations. The first is the ATA, who has their own system, the Songahm forms. The second (and my current system) is the TTA, which does the Chun do kwan style forms.

For those that may have the experience of both, which do you like better? If you have only experienced one, what do you like about it?

I like the ATA system because it seems to have a technique advancement system to it. It also has more kicking.

I like the Chun do kwan style, because it seems to be more oriented towards power. However, this could be more related to the stage in my training that I am at.

There it is....lots of info, lots of questions. Tell me your style, and what you like about your forms. (Karate or other style forms always welcome.)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i train in the world youn wha ryu tkd association and i'm not sure how traditional our forms are but i like koreo the most wich is required at red belt level. i have read that it is a 0dan black belt form in many other systems. i enjoy it because of the high side kicking which recently changed from low-high to middle-high as if kicking someone off of a horse on the battlefield. i like the form also because it represents the spirit of the people of an old korean dynasty who through fortitude and tenacity defeated mongolian agressors.

be polite, be patient, be alert, be brave, do your best, respect yourself and others.

"you may knock me down 100 times but i am resilliant and will NEVER GIVE UP"

• 2 weeks later...