• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

How old is too old?

CheekyMusician

I've recently started training at my Uni karate club. I've been training with a very sport orientated karate club on and off for 4 years, and while I was training there exclusively I kept wanting to train at a more traditional club and work on kata and basics more, but know I also train at my Uni club which is exactly the traditional club I'm looking at, I'm beginning to look into the sport side of things!

There is a sparring competition coming up that I'm interested in participating in, but I've never even watched a karate competition before, so it would well and truly be a first! However, although I've been training for 4 years, I've never really bothered with belt tests and so I only recently sat my 9th Kyu, and I've only been training at my Uni club about 6 months or so. Its the Uni club that's looking for entrants for the competition, but the Sensei there doesn't even allow junior belts to free spar in his class, so I'm not sure if he'd even be happy to let me fight in it or not.

I've got sparring experience 'cause of my 4 years with the other club which I still also attend, and although I can hold my own sparring people within that club, I've never sparred with anyone outside it and don't know if I'd be able to measure up.

The competition section I'd be competing in would include 9th Kyus-4th Kyus. I wouldn't expect to win, but I'd like to take part so that I could get a feel for it and then maybe participate again in it next year and be in with a chance of doing well, then. However, I don't want to totally embarrass myself.