• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Full Time Instructors

Hi All,

I'm sure that the goal of many instructors, including myself is to teach full time. That is, teach for a daily income.

I would like to hear from those of you who do teach full time, I would like to know more about it.

1) How did you get there? What tips do you have to those wishing to follow in your footsteps?

2) What are the down sides that perhaps we might not think of? eg. the hours etc.

3) What is the best thing about what you do?

The mind is like a parachute, it only works when it's open.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm currently teaching for an agency. http://www.allamericanyouth.org

1) I've been training for 11 years and teaching for 5. I taught under my master instructor and then I decided to branch out on my own. Teaching for All American Youth was pretty much a middle point between teaching for someone and getting my own dojo.

Tips: Build up your resume! Get every martial related job, private lesson, and group seminar possible under your belt. Credibility and references are KEY!

2) I make $25 dollars an hour, but I only work 12 hours a week. Which is AWESOME for a college student, but you can't support a family on that.

If I had my own dojo, I'd be making about the same AFTER all business oriented costs.

HERE's a TIP:

You need a second form of income. Start an afterschool program. This was A HUGE money maker at my last dojo and it's the only reason my instructor was able to live comfortably. He ran a very successful night program (aside from after school) but the operating costs were just so much.

3) I'm only 20 years old and I do what I love for a living. Lots of people over 30 years older than me can't even say that!

Hey There,

Thanks for the reply, some good ideas.