• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kids: Importance of making a proper fist

kihonkai

Hi All,

I am looking for some advice. I am a Shotokan student and i often have to learn in a class full of kids becasue i am still a beginner.

I have a question for you all:

Do you know of any good way to get the kids to make a proper fist? Because i am always watching the kids and getting very frustrated at their lack of effort when punching. is there anythign we can do to make them punch with a tightly closed fist instead of punching with a loosley, half closed fist?

Also, i see the kids frequently putting the shoulders right into a punch even though tehy are repeatedly told the correct way topunch is with shoulders square.

Have you lot had similar problems with students in your class doing this?

How can we stop them doing this?

Thanks

Kihonkai :karate:

25 year old student of Shotokan Karate since october 2004.

From Scotland

Current grade: Green Belt

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hi,

I often find myself in the same situation. I'm still learning myself, and as the other adults in the class are generally of a higher grade, there are sometimes situations when I'm solely working with kids.

Rob Redmond has written an article on his website about the "self-appointed sensei", and until I read it, I didn't really realise that I was correcting other students when it wasn't really my place to.

Basically I say concentrate on your own technique. If you're not the sensei, it's not really your place to tell the others if they are making mistakes. I know it's frustrating, but for you, me and others like us, we'd risk imparting information that is in itself incorrect. Unless the sensei's asked you to help teach I would leave it.