• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Why Did You Open a School?

I know most of the cliché reasons that people decide to teach martial arts. My question is what was the actual reason that made you decide to open a school and/or start teaching? Was there any one specific reason or event that you knew for sure that you wanted to teach?

Thanks,

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I originally opened my school simply because my friends kept asking me to teach them, however, now I teach because I want to leave something behind with the next generation.

What works works

I had been training for over 15 years and teaching part-time at my instructor's school for the past several years. Teaching was not only rewarding, but improved my own martial arts skills in ways that training alone could not do.

A little over a year ago I just decided it was time to "live the dream" and do what I love for a living. What a great choice! Being a MA instructor is the best job you can have. I have a positive impact on so many lives, my skills are better than ever, and my teenage sons come to work with me.

Oh, yea, not having a boss is pretty cool too.

• 1 month later...

I can just never seem to get away from teaching. Pretty much everywhere I go (and stay for a bit) they findout I'm in the martial arts and start questioning.. then it's proceeded by dumb male jokes (no offence to anyone) and then I get asked to teach. Which, I would rather teach then do nothing.

~BBB

Training 14 years

Kalkinodo Blackbelt

• 2 weeks later...

Our reason was really simple to start with, my Father wanted to run his own dojo under his previous instructor, but due to his ego problem, he didn't want anyone starting their own dojo under him (despite the fact that my Father ran the school for about 6 weeks of the year).

So, he decided to find his own way.

We've now had our school for 9 years.