• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What do you think?

i just wanted to get everyones opinion on this. okay so my friends and I were discussing, and they say that its a bad idea to try to create your own style of martial arts before you have a black belt. i disaggree, i think that no matter what belt you are,as long as you have the proper understanding of martial arts, then you should be able to. because in my dojo im a blue belt which is 3 away from black and i have been studying martial arts for several years and i also believe i am good enough to start studying my own style. what do you guys think?

<~Lil_ol_Ninja~>

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What would your style give that another martial art out there doesn't already have? Have you cross trained? If not then surely your own style could only ever be a version of what you already do?

Tokonkai Karate-do Instructor

http://www.karateresource.com

Kata, Bunkai, Articles, Reviews, History, Uncovering the Myths, Discussion Forum

i just wanted to get everyones opinion on this. okay so my friends and I were discussing, and they say that its a bad idea to try to create your own style of martial arts before you have a black belt. i disaggree, i think that no matter what belt you are,as long as you have the proper understanding of martial arts, then you should be able to. because in my dojo im a blue belt which is 3 away from black and i have been studying martial arts for several years and i also believe i am good enough to start studying my own style. what do you guys think?